The International Community Continues Extending Condolences to China over the Earthquake Disaster of Yushu, Qinghai (III)

On April 16 and 17, a number of foreign leaders and heads of international and regional organizations sent letters and telegraphs to President Hu Jintao, Chairman Wu Bangguo and Premier Wen Jiabao or through other forms to express condolences to the Chinese government and people over the earthquake disaster hitting Yushu, Qinghai.

Afghan President Hamid Karzai and Vice President Abdul Karim Khalili expressed deep sorrow for the loss of lives and property caused by the quake. They extended their sincerest sympathy and greetings to the Chinese people, especially families of the victims, and wished the injured to recover soon.

Brunei Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzadin Waddaulah offered deep condolence to the Chinese people affected by the quake.

Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad extended condolences to the victims and wished the injured an early recovery and families of the victims to tide over difficulties with determination and perseverance.

Syrian President Bachar el-Assad expressed deep condolences to the victims and best regards to their families. He hoped that the Chinese people could shake off the effects of the earthquake as soon as possible.

President of East Timor Jose Ramos-Horta said he was shocked and deeply saddened by the earthquake in China's Qinghai Province. One of the Chinese people's best qualities is that they can overcome major disasters with dignity and braveness, he said.

Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh sent his sincere condolences to the Chinese government and people for the heavy casualties in quake-hit Qinghai Province.

Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak and the speaker of the Egyptian People's Assembly Ahmed Fathi Sorour expressed their condolences, saying that they believed the Chinese people with great fortitude and the support of the strong system will overcome the disaster.

Botswana's President Ian Khama extended his deepest sympathy and condolences to the families affected by the quake.

Eritrean President Isaias Afwerki conveyed condolences and sympathy to the families of the victims and the Chinese people and hailed the Chinese government's relief work in quake-hit areas.

Uzbekistan President Islam Karimov sent his condolences to the families of the victims.

Kyrgyz interim government leader Roza Otunbayeva sent her deepest condolences to the families of the victims and the injured.

Danish Prime Minister Lars Loekke Rasmussen expressed condolences over the earthquake disaster and conveyed his deepest sympathies to the families of the victims.

Jose Luis Varela, speaker of the Panamanian National Assembly, sent his condolences for the heavy casualties caused by the quake, saying that he believed the Chinese people would reconstruct their homes with indomitable spirit.

Antigua and Barbuda's Prime Minister Baldwin Spencer expressed his sincere sympathy to families of the victims. He also highly appreciated the Chinese government's efforts in preventing the disaster from escalating and believed the Chinese people would win the battle against the disaster.

Muratbek Imanaliev, secretary-general of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, conveyed his profound condolences for the heavy casualties and property losses caused by the quake and extended his sincere sympathies to the families of the victims and the people affected by the quake, adding that the peoples of the SCO member states would be with the Chinese people.

Andres B. Johnsson, secretary general of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), and Dr.Theo-Ben Gurirab, IPU president and also the Namibian National Assembly speaker, extended the support and sympathy of the IPU member states to the Chinese people and offered the deepest condolences to the families of the victims.

World Bank President Robert B. Zoellick expressed condolences to the Yushu people whose loved ones were lost and lives were greatly affected.

Chinese Foreign Minister Yang Jiechi has received letters of condolence from Afghan Foreign Minister Zalmay Rasul, Brunei Darussalam Minister of Foreign Affairs Mohamed Bolkiah, Indonesian Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa, Malaysian Foreign Minister Anifah Aman, Egyptian Foreign Minister Ahmed Abul-Gheit, Eritrea's Minister of Foreign Affairs Osman Saleh Mohammed, Kazakhstan's Secretary of State and Foreign Minister Kanat Saudabayev, Danish Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Lene Espersen and Australian Foreign Minister Stephen Smith. Many other countries, including the Philippines, have also extended condolences through various channels.

Suggest to a Friend
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China All Rights Reserved